autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Exterior Detail Timing Analysis

I'm new to the business. I know I can do really good work. What I'm unsure of is how fast I am. If I'm slow, I'm leaving money on the table. So read on and share your thoughts.

The car - The car for this example is a Mercedes CLK 63 AMG Black Series. It's silver. The car was well kept but it hadn't been detailed in 3 years. The car has lots of edges, trim, and contours that break the panels into small sections and make it tough to use a 6" buffer.

The service - I did what I consider an entry exterior detail that includes, washing the wheels, washing the car, claybar, and wax (or a one step polish/wax). The price for that service is $290. Yeah, that's quite a bit more than what I've heard others charge for similar services. Don't worry about my price. I have competition that are priced higher than I am and I can pull in customers that don't have an issue with the price if the work is good.

The time - Here's a breakdown of how long it took me to knock out the work:
    • Wheels - 55 minutes - This includes brushing the wheel wells and cleaning about 50% of the way to the back of the barrels. 14 minutes per wheel seems long. Remember, this includes filling the buckets, collecting the tools, and cleanup.
    • Wash/dry - 45 minutes - this includes washing, wiping down the door edges, door jams, and around the hood and trunk. I've seen videos of guys doing sub 10 minutes washes but it doesn't include drying or wiping the jambs.
    • Clay - 60 minutes.