autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Blackfire Paint Coating - What did I do wrong???

Unfortunately, I am new to these paint coatings, and I decided to try the Blackfire Crystal Paint Coating on my black Dodge Ram. It ended-up looking TERRIBLE.

I did everything right - washed, "clayed" with a Nanoskin mitt (which works AWESOME, BTW), polished with Wolfgang Polish, then finally sprayed the whole thing off with Blackfire Paint Prep.

The coating went on pretty nicely with a Lake Country Applicator, but I noticed that it started to seize-up within about 20 seconds (I did it in a garage, it was about 70 degrees F outside), and by the time that I attempted to level it out - as in the video with the blue Fusion that everyone has watched - it was completely streaked!

I have noticed that it looks perfect on my headlights and trim, but pretty much every bit of it on the black paint looks like crap.

I think I may have used too much product, and I hope that it will still be good protection, but it certainly looks BAD right now. I attempted to buff it off with a MF towel, but after one small section, I was quickly tired of that.

What could I have done wrong??? Again, I'm betting I used a little too much of the coating, but aren't these things supposed to be easy enough for anyone to do these days? I wouldn't call this stuff "user-friendly" for an amateur, if using slightly too much completely ruins the final results...

I am going to use Wolfgang Uber on my other truck. Or, I WAS going to use it. Is Uber different/better than Blackfire? Or should I just give up on the coatings and use Wolfgang Sealant?