autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newby question

Post Thanks / Like

Newby question

So I've been lurking long enough and need to ask a question about polishers...what's the best buffer/polisher for a complete Newby who has never messed with any power tool on paint? Local store sells the flex series and Porter-Cable. Anyone? Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newby question

I would say it depends how much you want to dive into this lovely addic... I mean passion. I would say if you aren't sure that a Griots Garage polisher is a good starting point. If feel pretty confident that you will want to do it for a while and maybe you have a daily driver you can work on, the flex is a very popular model.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to AGO.
    The Porter Cable is a great starter PC. I have both the Flex and PC. The Flex is a beast. But if your budget is limited you can't go wrong with the PC. I still use the PC and it will always have a place in my detailing arsenal.

The Griot's Garage 6" is also a good starter too.
    But whatever Polisher you decide to get; YOU MUST get Mike Phillips book of how to get a Show Car finish. That alone will teach you what to expect and how to take care of your ride...PERIOD!
    CJ
    2013 Mustang GT w/Track Pack 6-Speed Manual
    Save the Manual!

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the info already guys! I can afford the flex but is it better than the pc or the groits?

Post Thanks / Like

Massively better!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by mattmann View Post
    Thanks for the info already guys! I can afford the flex but is it better than the pc or the groits?