autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Repairing clear coat

Hi,
    I've got an '81 Corvette that was repainted sometime in its history. The clear coat is now worn through in a couple of spots and I was wondering what the best way to fix it was.

I planned to clean the areas, shoot a coat of dupli-cole clear coat and then buff it out with my new Porter 7424. However, this sounds too easy.

Any suggestions or advice.

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm not an expert, but if the clear coat has failed, won't the paint underneath it be damaged in some way?

Post Thanks / Like
    No pro here .from exp i beleive you need a repaint to repair the CC.
    CC is nonpigment paint, that is paint with no color i beleive CC used years ago it was easy to repair/match it up, nowadys thats not possible so the shop will opt out to repaint the entire panel. If another member could add or correct to this please feel free to do so..

Post Thanks / Like
    How exactly do you know that the clear coat is worn down in a couple spots? If you have typical clear coat failure then the clearcoat begins to cloud over from between it and the color coat underneath. You cannot fix that merely by polishing and respraying clear. You have to remove all of the clear on the panel and reapply it at that point. Typically that may require reapplying the base coat as well. Pictures are really going to be necessary before you can get any specific advice on how to fix this issue.
    .....www.OCDetails.com.....
    Obessive Compulsive Details
    a.k.a. Jngrbrdman

Copyright © OCDetails.com All Rights Reserved

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by joe.p