autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

help removing swirls from white paint

Hey all...I've been detailing my own cars and those of friends for over 10 years (but only in the past 3 have I really experimented with a lot of "better" products). Anyhow...I'd never owned a white car before this and for some reason, I just CANNOT seem to get rid of some horrible swirling all over the paint. There was a period of about 5-6 months that my herniated disc afforded me the pain of watching my pride and joy go through automatic car washes-thus leaving me with most of the swirling.

What am I doing wrong?

Here's what my full detail consists of..feel free to critique!

1) Wash with Meguires Gold Class soap

2) Dry with Cobra MF towels

3) Claybar with Magic Clay and QD (usually meguires, or whatever else I have at the momet)

4) Pinnacle Advanced swirl remover w/ PC set to about 2- then gradually to a max of 4.5 with about 3-4 passes.

5) Pinnacle Polish w PC set to 2- then gradually working to 5 with about 6 passes.

6) Poorboy's XPT sealant w PS set to 2 then to max of 3, let haze for about an hour, then buff with MF towel.

7) Pinnacle liquid Souverign w PS set to 2, let haze and immediately buff off.

The paint is smooth and extremely shiny, but in certain lighting, the swirling shows, and it's actually pretty bad. What's odd is that on cars that I've worked on, black, pearl red, pearl blue, I almost always got the swirls out. I'm beginning to think that because my car is white- I'm not noticing them as much during the detail so I might skip over them. Any pointers?
    Last edited by DieselClown; 06-20-2007 at 12:25 PM.

Post Thanks / Like