autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Smile 1st AutoDetailing Kit

Hello AutoGeeks,

I'm RJ and I'm totally new to the world of AutoDetailing. I didn't realize how visual maintenance of a car can be so intricate until I found this website. Needless to say, I'm quite excited to work on my car and start learning from there.

I have a '10 Subaru Forester - Blue. Overall, its appearance is still in pretty good condition except for some scratches & paint chips on the left side of the fender caused by City Plow Trucks during this past winter.

Right now, I'm compiling a list of things I need to buy to get me started:

1. Washing Shampoo - Optimum No Rinse Wash or DP Rinseless Wash & Gloss or Meguiar's Gold Class Shampoo
    2. Clay - Pinnacle Ultra Poly Clay
    3. Compound - Pinnacle XMT #3 - #4 (I'm gonna try to use a rubbing compound first to fix the scratch I've mentioned.)
    4. Sealant/Polish - Klasse All in One Polish (any other suggestions?)
    5. Glaze - maybe later on (any suggestions?)
    6. Wax - Collinite #845 or Meguiar's Gold Class Carnuba or Mothers California Gold Carnuba Wax or Poorboy Liquid's Natty Blue Wax
    7. Quick Detailer - I'll make use of the Optimum No Rinse Wash
    8. Wheel Cleaner - Mothers All Wheel and Tire Cleaner (any other suggestions?)
    9. Tire Dressing - DP Gloss Tire Gel
    10. Buffer - still looking but probably the Black & Decker Random Orbital Polisher (can't afford the ones that cost hundreds of $$$)
    11. Towel - Mango Freeze Microfiber
    12. Applicator Pads / Brush - local store probably