autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Review my process

Spring detail is coming up after a rough WI winter. I'm still really new to detailing and after reading thousands of threads I feel like I have a good plan but just want to double check to make sure I'm doing it right and not leaving anything out.

I will be detailing my GF's 2007 Saturn Aura (black) that never sees anything but an automatic car wash. This winter she had a little brush with the garage door and has a few scuffs on the side of the car, I doubt I will be able to get them all the way out but my biggest goal is to minimize their appearance. Wetsanding or using a rotary are out as I just don't have enough experience and am not interested in paying to respray the side of her car. I do have a PC DA that I will be using. Here's my plan, let me know if anything should be adjusted, added or taken out. Be as critical as you want, I have thick skin and I'm here to learn.

Foam gun to loosen everything up
    Two bucket wash
    Clay (ultra poly)
    Should I wash again here or just go to polishing?
    Megs 105 w/ orange or yellow pad
    Megs 205 (unsure which pad, gray?)
    Natty's blue paste wax

She keeps the interior pretty clean so I figure a quick vacuum then DP interior cleaner & protectant should do the trick.

I already have the Natty's blue and the DP interior combo which is why I mentioned using those particular products. The 105, 205 and clay I would have to order but the results I have seen make me really want to try them and I think with the scuffs from the door I will need as much of a cut as I can safely get.