autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like

Carnuaba with Cleaner

Be easy on me, I'm new to this!

If I applied my Mother's carnuaba w/cleaner on a finish, would it remove any prior treatments?

I've been using this by hand for years, but in reading Autogeeks I've come to realize that the recommended wax to apply over detailing solution is pure carnuaba wax, not the wax with cleaner.

Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Carnuaba with Cleaner

Quote Originally Posted by asallwey View Post
    If I applied my Mother's carnuaba w/cleaner on a finish, would it remove any prior treatments?
    Yes. The Mother's product is a cleaner wax, or an all-in-one (AIO) product. It has ingredients designed to clean, polish, and protect. The cleaning and polishing ingredients would remove the old finish.

I've been using this by hand for years, but in reading Autogeeks I've come to realize that the recommended wax to apply over detailing solution is pure carnuaba wax, not the wax with cleaner.
    For most people, using a cleaner wax is good enough. It will clean the paint, have some polishing ability, and leave behind some wax to protect it.

For a neglected car with damage to the finish, an AIO isn't strong enough. That when dedicated products are used for each step, and that's when what you call "pure carnauba wax" is used. A more correct term would be a finishing wax.