autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum Autogeek on TV
car wax, car care and auto detailing forumAutogeekonline autogeekonline car wax, car care and auto detailing forum HomeForumBlogAutogeek.net StoreDetailing Classes with Mike PhillipsGalleryDetailing How To's

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Newbie Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Restoring My Paint

The paint on my 1991 Miata has been neglected for years, always kept clean and waxed by previous owner, but it appears to have never been polished or compounded up.

I am new to detailing and figured I would ask here before I go buy a DA buffer and supplies. The paint is a dark colour (British Racing Green) and it is the original single stage paint. As im sure you know it can be difficult to photograph the scratches and swirls you can see in person, but here is a link to a quick video I threw together to try hilight some of the problem areas:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bI217hK3l4Q

I understand this paint is definitely not 100% fixable without a repaint, but I want to get it as close as possible. Like I said this would be my first time seriously detailing a car, and I have watched a lot of videos, but most are referring to base coat clear coat finishes, or old single stage paints. I am only 16 and this is my first car, I am contemplating becoming a pro detailer when I am older and figure this is a great opportunity to try out the basics and see if it may interest me, as well as get some practice!

So my question is what pads, and products do you suggest to bring this unique finish back to life, the car is daily driven but only in summer months.

I was personally thinking to buy a Porter cable DA and 2 Orange pads, a white and a black/grey, and using products like Megs 105, and 205, followed by a carnuba on top.

I wash and wax my car every week or so, so longevity of wax is not an issue!